HomeWorld77.55% polling in Munugode, Telangana, low turnout in Andheri East of Maha...

77.55% polling in Munugode, Telangana, low turnout in Andheri East of MahaSEXI News

Voting in seven assembly seats in six states of Maharashtra, Bihar, Haryana, Telangana, Odisha and Uttar Pradesh ended peacefully except for minor clashes outside a few polling stations on Thursday. From 31.74 per cent in Andheri (East) in Maharashtra to 77.55 per cent in Munugode seat of Telangana, till 7:45 pm, polling was recorded. Counting of votes will take place on November 6.

Till the last report, the polling percentage in seven other seats was Mokama (52.47) and Gopalganj (48.35) in Bihar, Munugode (77.55) in Telangana, Adampur (75.25), Andheri (East) (31.74) in Haryana. Gola Gokarnath (55.68) of Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh and Dhamnagar (66.63) of Odisha. These figures are likely to change.

Barring a few minor incidents, the bypoll was overall peaceful.

Of the seven seats that went to polls, the BJP had three and the Congress two, while the Shiv Sena and the RJD had one seat each. This contest marks a fierce battle between the BJP and the regional parties.

Here is a list of all the six states where bypolls were held in seven seats:

1. Uttar Pradesh: Akhilesh Yadav-led Samajwadi Party alleged that some polling booths were occupied by workers of the ruling BJP. However, District Magistrate Mahendra Bahadur Singh denied the claims and said that he personally visited the polling stations but found nothing.

2. Odisha: There were reports of clashes between the BJD and the BJP at two polling stations in Odisha’s Rameshwarpur when polling was held, resulting in injuries to two people. The BJP wants to retain Dhamnagar in the BJD-ruled state.

3. Uttar Pradesh: The BJP wants to retain the Gola Gokarnath seat in Uttar Pradesh and rely on sympathy votes as it has fielded the sitting MLA’s son, whose death led to the bypoll.

4. Telangana: The BJP and the ruling TRS were campaigning aggressively in Telangana’s Munugode, where the Congress MLA had resigned and is fighting on a saffron party ticket. The Election Commission of India (ECI) made elaborate arrangements for the polling, including deployment of 3,366 state police and 15 companies of central security personnel, in Munugode.

5. Haryana: In Adampur, Kuldeep Bishnoi, younger son of former chief minister Bhajan Lal, resigned as an MLA from the seat and a by-election was necessitated after he switched from the Congress to the BJP in August. Bishnoi’s son Bhavya is now contesting as a BJP candidate. The Adampur seat has been occupied by the Bhajan Lal family since 1968, with the late former chief minister representing it on nine occasions, his wife Jasma Devi once and Kuldeep on four occasions.

6. Bihar: The state saw the first electoral test for the Nitish Kumar-led ‘Mahagathbandhan’ government, which was formed less than three months after the JD(U) parted ways with the BJP. In Bihar, Mokama and Gopalganj seats were earlier occupied by RJD and BJP respectively. BJP contested from Mokama constituency for the first time as the saffron party had left the seat for its allies on previous occasions. Both the BJP and the RJD have fielded the wives of local musclemen in the bypolls.

Congress, Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) are among the major parties contesting the by-elections.

(with inputs from PTI)

read all Latest Politics News Here