HomeIndiaAldos Paul won India's first gold in triple jump at Commonwealth Games,...

Aldos Paul won India’s first gold in triple jump at Commonwealth Games, silver for Abubakar SEXI News

Aldos Paul won India’s first gold in triple jump at Commonwealth Games, silver for Abubakar

Birmingham, Aug 7 (PTI) Led by Aldos Paul, India scripted history by clinching the first two places in the men’s triple jump event of the Commonwealth Games here on Sunday as India scored four medals in athletics on Sunday. .

Apart from Paul’s gold medal, his fellow athlete from Kerala Abdulla Abubakar also won the silver medal in the event. India won four medals within half an hour, taking India’s one gold, four silver and three bronze medals this time in athletics, which is India’s best performance outside the country so far.

Paul became the sixth Indian athlete to win a gold at the Commonwealth Games. Milkha Singh did this feat in 1958 in 440 yards.

Paul clocked a best distance of 17.03m in his third attempt. Abubakar finished second with an effort of 17.02m. Abubakar covered this distance in his fifth attempt. Praveen Chitrawal of India only 16. Finished fourth with 89 metres.

Bermuda’s Jah-Anhal Perinchef won the bronze medal with a best effort of 16.92m.

India has won four medals in triple jump at the Commonwealth Games but this is the first time that two athletes from the country have made it to the podium together.

Mohinder Singh Gill won bronze and silver medals in 1970 and 1974 respectively while Ranjit Maheshwari and Arpinder Singh finished third in 2010 and 2014.

India’s Anu Rani created history by winning a bronze medal in the javelin throw event. She became the first female javelin thrower in the country to achieve this feat.

Rani finished third in her third attempt by throwing a javelin 60 meters away.

World champion Kelsey Lee Barber of Australia won the gold with a throw of 64.43m while her compatriot Mackenzie Little came second with a throw of 64.27m.

Prior to Rani, Commonwealth Games champion Kashinath Nayak and Olympic champion Neeraj Chopra have won bronze and gold medals respectively in men’s javelin throw.

Nayak won medals at the 2010 Delhi Commonwealth Games while Chopra won medals at the 2018 Gold Coast.

India’s Sandeep Kumar won the bronze medal in the men’s 10,000m walk.

Sandeep clocked 38:49.21 minutes to finish behind gold medalist Ivan Dunphy of Canada (38:36.37) and silver medalist Declan Tinge (38:42.33) of Australia.

Another Indian in the event, Amit Khatri, finished ninth with a season’s best time of 43:04.97.

Prior to this, Priyanka Goswami has won a silver medal in the women’s category in walking.

India’s bag remained empty in the absence of Neeraj Chopra in the javelin throw. Chopra had decided not to participate in sports due to fitness reasons.

DP Manu of India 82. Rohit Yadav is fifth and 82 with a best throw of 28 meters. Finished sixth with 22 metres. Arshad Nadeem of Pakistan made a new record of 90. Won the gold medal with a throw of 18 meters while Anderson Peters of Granada, who won the gold by defeating Neeraj in the World Championship, got the silver medal. Kenya’s Julius Yego won the bronze medal.

Indian women’s 4x100m relay team in final 43. She finished fifth with a time of 81 seconds.

The Indian team consisted of Dutee Chand, Hima Das, Shrabani Nanda and Jyoti Yaraji.

Nigerian team 42. Won the gold with 10 seconds while England got the silver and Jamaica got the bronze.




This news has been taken from ‘Bhasha’ news agency by ‘auto-feed’. ThePrint is not responsible for its content.